Thursday, 8 May 2008

May 18 is International Museums Day!

Did you know that there was an International Museums Day? I certainly didn’t! I found this out when I was searching for a museum on line.

International Museums Day has been celebrated worldwide since 1977. This year’s theme is “Museums as Agents of Social Change and Development”. Here is a
listing of the museums taking part in the event.

The one that sounds interesting to me is hosted by The Tech Museum of Innovation – the
First Virtual International Museums Day. This exhibit will run for 24 hours and will be staffed by museum professionals from major time zones around the world. It will begin at 3:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time/9:00 a.m. Paris Time on May 18, 2008 and there will be one major event at 12:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time/6 p.m. Paris time at slurl: http://b.tinyurl.com/6hqj84.

So, visit a museum on May the 18th!

No comments: